Economic efficiency of territorial units and their supervision

Federal Roads Office

Key facts

With the new system of fiscal equalization and the division of tasks between the Confederation and the cantons (NFE), in 2008 ownership of motorways passed to the Confederation, which also assumed responsibility for their operation. The original 24 cantonal bodies were grouped into 11 territorial units, which today ensure operational and project-free structural maintenance. They are engaged for this purpose by the Federal Roads Office (FEDRO) with a service level agreement.